Rugby Sevens

Rugby 7s © Getty Images

Rugby Sevens is a variant of rugby union that features seven players on each side. The competition is played on a regulation sized field, opening the game up to  plenty of fast paced action and a steady flow of points.

With rugby sevens set to make its Olympic debut at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games it will also appear for the first time on an AYOF program in 2013.

The Australian women’s team are the reigning World Cup and Asia Pacific Champions.


St Ignatius College, Lane Cove

Competition Dates

18 - 19 January 2013

Competition Format

Sevens format


Men’s and Women’s

Age Group

Born between 1 January 1995 and 31 December 1997


120 Athletes (maximum 24 Athletes per team - 12 men & 12 women)

Download Final Competition Schedule here>>>

Competition Schedule

DAY 3 Friday 18/01/2013

St Ignatius College, Lane Cove
9:30 - 12:40 8 Games
13:30 - 16:45 8 Games
17:10 - 18:30 4 Games

DAY 4 Saturday 19/01/2013

St Ignatius College, Lane Cove
13:30 - 14:40 4 Games
15:20 - 16:45 4 Games
17:10 - 18:40 4 Games

*Schedule subject to change.Full Competition Schedule below *

Related News

2013 AYOF: Sport by sport wrap

Across all of the 17 sports at the 2013 AYOF the standard of competition was outstanding and future Olympians where in action across Sydney. Check out how all the competitions unfolded in the sport by sport wrap. Read more...


Festival spurs youth toward 2016

As the Australian Youth Olympic Festival (AYOF) finishes up here in Sydney, the junior athletes could not have got a better experience on the road to Rio 2016. Read more...